Elation!

On Friday–so, yesterday–I was finally admitted to my top university! I’d already been admitted when I graduated high school, but I chose to go to the local community college (because tuition was freeeeeeee). Now that I’m actually admitted, I feel like the wind. So free free free! It’s not that I don’t like Battle Creek, but for someone my age, its atmosphere is repressive and dull. (There is nothing to do here. You may think I’m being dramatic when I say that but I’m not. I’m really not).

So now I’m moving on! I’ve already got my transfer credits in order and I’m definitely for sure for REAL going there in the fall. No amount of caps lock can convey my excitement.

Except, I’m also terrified. So far my community college has been easier than high school. Has it set me up for failure? I wish it had been more challenging. A lot of my friends talk about how difficult the classes are (and yet they also skip class frequently? This makes no sense to me). I don’t know if I’m prepared. I’ve always been a good student, but I have no idea what my professors will expect of me.

I’m also anxious because I just recently–as in TODAY–figured out what I truly want to do with my life. I still want to be an author, but I want to write things that help people. I enjoy writing fantasy and fiction and I will most likely continue to pen those stories, but I want to write something real–I want to write something that will raise awareness for the hardship in the world. So I’ve changed my declared major to Communication. It covers a whole myriad of courses and programs (many of which I was going into anyway with my old major, but this is more concentrated in the politics/humanities/public relations sort of thing). I’m thinking of minoring in Professional Writing (mainly because of its coursework in editing/publishing and grant writing). I’ve always felt my best when helping others, and I’ve solidified my desire to be a positive force in the world, so I think this is the best option for me right now. I’m so excited! Right now I feel powerful; knowing what direction I want my life to follow has helped me settle into myself. I feel more like a complete being.

Do you have a passion? Are there any injustices in the world that you would like to change? Do you have a plan to make the world a better place? If so, feel free to share; I would love to start a discussion on this!

Elation!

Leave a Reply

