Spring Break

Sorry I haven’t posted anything in a while–I was on spring break! It was wonderful! My family and I went up to the UP for the week, and the weather was perfect! (Well, as perfect as Michigan weather can be, I suppose). It wasn’t too cold, and it wasn’t too warm. There was snow everywhere and it was like a winter wonderland. Normally I hate the cold, but actual spring would have ruined it for me. There were icebergs on the lakes! Real icebergs!

We went to the Eben Ice Cave, and that was just GLORIOUS.

It was so beautiful!

Eben Ice Cave 2013
Eben Ice Cave 2013

And I went INSIDE it! It was freezing, and the walk was so long, but it was worth it. It was so quiet in that forest–we were the only people there and it was the most peaceful environment I’ve ever been in.

After that, we stayed in a hotel in Munising, and it was so nice! It was like a northern lodge, and we had a suite room so we wouldn’t crowd each other. We went to go see some nearby waterfalls and it was so beautiful and gorgeous and live changing and AGH I LOVED IT. The UP is really cute and lovely, and I would love living there. (Not for long, but for a couple years or so. That would be perfect).

The waterfalls were probably my favorite. They were half frozen so they looked like they were majestic thrones made only for the gods. Or maybe portals to some other world. In any case, they were stunning.

Frozen Waterfall 2013
Frozen Waterfall 2013

We went to three and they were beautiful! My sister and I accidentally found another one, and while the descent to reach it was dangerous, we did it anyway. Walking behind a frozen waterfall is so exhilarating! My sister stepped in the river, though, so we didn’t stay for long. We felt like adventurers!

That wasn’t all that we did, but those were my two favorite things about our trip. Of course, we got fudge from Mackinaw City, and even managed not to eat it all on the way home, so that was good, too. We stayed at my cottage for a day before returning home, and it was perfect. This was probably my favorite spring break so far. Usually we go down to Florida to visit relatives, but it was nice to do something different.

Where do you go for vacations? Have you ever gone out of the country? Please feel free to share. I would love to see pictures!

Spring Break

4 thoughts on “Spring Break

  1. I live about 140 miles west of Munising, near Houghton. It is beautiful. But we are having a looong winter this year, another winterstorm today. Uggh. Thank for visiting my blog.

    1. But the snow is beautiful, yes? I live down in the lower peninsula near Kalamazoo, and our winter isn’t nearly as beautiful as yours. Our snow was spotty and it would melt periodically, leaving behind dead, muddy things. It was gross. But you get true winter and I’m super jealous! (Although I’m not too keen on long winters. I feel your pain).

      1. I totally understand that. I can’t wait for things to start blooming again! It’s been really rainy here for a couple days and already things are turning green. It’s getting me excited.

Leave a Reply

